Sayville Students Championed for Outstanding Character

Twenty high school students applauded for kindness, compassion and good citizenship.

The Breakfast of Champions ceremony gathered Sayville Administrators, Faculty, Staff, and relatives to  recognize twenty select Sayville High School students. These students were championed for their good character and singled out for demonstrating qualities of kindness, motivation, compassion, enthusiasm, diligence, and good citizenship beyond the classroom or athletic field or who achieved their personal best by striving to overcome major obstacles. Their positive conduct, as observed by the Sayville High School teachers and staff who nominated them, has made a difference and provided the essential components that contribute to a successful High School Community.

After the staff expressed their appreciation of each recipient before the family members and district office Administrators who had been invited to attend, each student received a Breakfast of Champions certificate and plaque created with their portrait on a Wheaties Box background.

Bearing witness to the integrity and accomplishments of these good citizens is “one of my favorite events,” Superintendent Dr. Walter Schartner remarked, who along with Deputy Superintendent Dr. Geraldine Sullivan Keck, Assistant Superintendent for Business John Belmonte, and Food Service Director Linda Horrigan, commended the wonderful semiannual tradition.

The heartwarming event ended with a belly-warming breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, bagels, and raisin French toast along with assorted beverages all provided by 21 Main Restaurant, West Sayville, ensuring that satisfaction of spirit was followed by a satisfying morning meal.

Special thanks go to Assistant Principal Brian Decker who organized the event, the technology department for making the plaques, and Mr. Ari Kramer and his chamber students who provided the soothing musical ambiance.

Congratulations to the following students:

Gabrielle Clement


Spencer Andrews,


Taylor Connolly


Anna Corso


Craig Davidson


Stefanie Ebo


James Giattino


Matthew Iovino


Janine Loesch


Trevor May


Kelly McElroy


Kaitlin McNamara


Taylor Mills


Matthew Neuschwender


Lorelei Olk


Chloe Palamaro


Bradley Pritchard


Tyler Renzulli

Team Dawg January 20, 2013 at 12:27 AM
Congratulations to you all! You are true role models , not only to your fellow students, but to the entire community and beyond. On behalf of Team Dawg we salute you all for being Everyday Heroes! Thank you!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »