.

Preview: West Islip Board of Education September Meeting Agenda

Board will meet at 8 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 13.

The West Islip School Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday at 8 p.m. at West Islip High School.

The Board will approve a donation to the Varsity Football team from the West Islip Athletic Booster Club.

Superintendent Richard Simon will also give a report of the opening day of school as well as a reorganization in the central office.

Click on the the preliminary agenda posted by West Islip school district for full details on Thursday night's meeting.

Jake J. September 15, 2012 at 04:51 PM
Westbrook Parent, why don't you want a sign in front of the school? Afraid it will look bad to outsiders and lower your property value? Closed schools are closed schools whether you put a sign on them or not. And I, too, am happy that your kids are adjusting well, but not all are and if just one kid is having a hard time thats one too many.
Jake J. September 15, 2012 at 05:04 PM
Thank you to whoever took that video!!! Now there is no excuse for anyone in this town to not know that our BOE gave a raise to Simon & friends instead of windows (or anything else worth $30,000) to our children, after we were specifically told that these people would be foregoing raises this year, that Mrs. Duffy did indeed try to downplay the Westbrook award by claiming it was based on improvement, not achievement (which is false because there was a separate category for improvement), and that neither Simon nor any single member of the BOE had any problem with the fact that the real estate contract is not being carried out as written. Wake up, people! Accountability is at level zero here!!!
chris vomvos September 15, 2012 at 05:18 PM
how did winkler real estate get this listing they are not a big commercial firm. how many companies were interview to market these properties.
Jake J. September 15, 2012 at 06:12 PM
Funny how the BOE jumped on the opportunity to announce LaRosa's award a few meetings back, but doesn't feel the need to mention Westbrook's award anywhere at any time? Could they be any more self-congratulatory? If they mention how low our class sizes are compared to the NYS average one more time I think I'm going to vomit. How about comparing class room square footage and building square footage and parking availability and flow of traffic as well? How about comparing number of closets being used as classrooms? The teachers took on more than a 3% increase in students, but were asked to forego their raises. I agree with the woman at the meeting last night who said it would be an embarassment if the teachers had given up their raises only to have Simon then get one. If only the BOE were capable of embarassment! They need to find a moral compass first.
Jessica Horvath September 15, 2012 at 06:32 PM
It is disturbing that Westbrook wasn't praised for that award. It almost was upsetting to me to find out that they received this great honor and received no recognition in our town for it! That really is terrible. I think that the real estate company is doing its job for a few reasons - having kids in all of their activities and sports and having to schlep everyone all over this town, I have driven past both Westbrook and Kirdahy and have to say that both buildings are bustling. They are not in fact closed. There is a lot of stuff going on and things happening. I think that there are interested parties. I don't think they are hiding anything here - why would they? Why would they NOT want to rent out the buildings they closed. It doesn't make sense.... And you are right. That 30,000 could have been used for new windows at Bayview. Like I said, I don't think anyone should be getting raises, but I just wanted you to know having been to the meeting, it was not a lot of money, and it was to compensate for added responsibility. It wasn't just a raise for the sake of giving a raise. That is all I am saying. AGAIN I don't think ANYONE should be getting any raises at all. That includes teachers, custodians, whoever. We've got problems over here and everyone needs to just tighten their belts. That's it!
Lauren Paccione September 15, 2012 at 06:44 PM
The rest of the country is doing more work, harder work, added responsibilities, and not getting a raise, or worse, are taking pay cuts. I think Simon should be able to adjust to his added responsibilities on $215k just fine. FYI....they also have two less buildings to be responsible for. Call it a wash and do what's right for the community for once.
Rich September 15, 2012 at 09:21 PM
Jessica, closed buildings bustling with activity is great but that has nothing to do with the legal contract that Winkler Real Estate signed with the district. They promised to advertise the buildings for lease. So far there are no signs on either building and neither building is listed on their commercial Real Estate web site either with pictures or write ups. They also promised written monthly reports as to progress they have made. So far there is none. I firmly believe that Westbrook and at least the field of Captree/ Kirdahy will needed very soon. I think that we need to lease NOT sell for that reason. But I also believe that something is going on. Westbrook NEVER should have closed. The BOE suppressed vital information about the award that Westbrook had received. When the State restored much of the lost funding and the payroll tax was eliminated, Westbrook SHOULD have been saved but it wasn't. Why? What's really going on here? Do they really have a plan to sell Westbrook to build a housing development? Someone had to know the real answers.
Wendy Regan September 15, 2012 at 09:24 PM
(continued) What’s even more peculiar (to me, anyway) is the following statement in the RE agent’s proposal to the district: “The demand for leasing the schools will not be there because there are too many schools that have closed or will be closing, so there will be a glut on the market.” It appears to me that if the RE market is flooded with closed schools (which it is) and the RE agent doesn’t seem to have even listed or advertised the availability of the buildings---then what a colossal stroke of luck that an interested party seems to have fallen from the sky. I was curious to know more about this amazing coincidence, so I filled out an Application for Public Access to Records form with the district and requested copies of the RE agent’s written monthly reports which, according to their contract, would answer all of my questions about how and where the buildings were being marketed, contacts, leads and other developments. I was advised that “no such documents exist” because the RE agent failed to submit any of the monthly reports. So, unlisted and unadvertised, market glutted with vacant school buildings, no written monthly statements documenting marketing, contacts, leads and developments as per the executed contract requires. That leads me to wonder if it’s possible that a tenant was interested in a particular building before the actual building was ‘selected’ to close.
Wendy Regan September 15, 2012 at 09:26 PM
Jessica-I’m confused (more than I usually am). If both Westbrook and Kirdahy are “bustling” with activity, why didn’t the district announce the new tenants and let us know how much income our cash-strapped district will be receiving? Did I miss something? Unless the bustling you’re referring to are the comings and goings of groups like WI Dance, WI scouts troops, etc. If that’s the case then why would that mean the real estate company is “doing their job”? The real estate company didn’t solicit those community groups as those groups have been using Westbrook and Kirdahy for years. You said that you think there are interested parties. By that I assume you mean parties interested in leasing one or both of the buildings? I bet you’re right. However, I’d like to know HOW the party even knew the building(s) were available since the RE agent doesn’t seem to have listed/advertised them anywhere.
Rich September 15, 2012 at 09:43 PM
The more I hear and the more I learn about what happened to Westbrook, the Realtor who never listed our buildings, the budget deficit that never affected the MS or HS, and now rumors of a sale of schools and housing development. This sounds like a good case for the District Attorney's Office to llook into. Something is not right here. Little kids got hurt. Schools and academics got sacrificed. Let's hope this wasn't done for money.
Jesse September 16, 2012 at 12:19 AM
It certainly appears thay way. Time will tell.
Jesse September 16, 2012 at 12:57 AM
Don't forget part of the reason the buildings appear to be "bustling" is because there are teachers with offices there because they don't fit in the four remaing elementary buildings and there are custodians there to oversee the building with teachers, Ask Us, etc. occupying the buildings.
Karen September 16, 2012 at 01:44 AM
Forget about windows..How about enough TEXTBOOKS for our students??!! Our schools are a disgrace. Beach has exterior bricks falling off and the bathrooms look like they are from 1975. The track is a joke and all of our fields are disgusting. We pay ridiculous taxes and still have to layout hundreds of dollars in school supplies. I used to be proud to say I lived in West Islip. I stand at sporting events and am embarrassed by what this town has become. Time to go
Danny September 16, 2012 at 02:11 AM
@"just the facts" your kidding right? You didn't make the video? Just stumbled upon it on Glenn montes' hack website? Really? Your little diatribe sounds exactly what he was spewing last spring before he got his a$$ kicked by gellar, and then crawled away licking his wounds... Ha ha ha... Your pathetic.
We're all in September 16, 2012 at 02:17 AM
I am truly amazed by all of this!!! With the state of the current economy and the fect that we had to surrender to of our elementary schools, noone and I mean noone in the district should be getting any raises right now. Added responsibilities????? I currently have to work twice as hard to earn just as much as I have in the past! $221,000 is excessive right now when schools have closed and noone can tell me any different! I also use to be proud of our schools! I was a Westbrook student myself and loved it there. The schools wins an award and they do not even acknowledge it! Unreal!! Lets shut it down!! With what we pay in taxes, our children should have the only the most current and best in tools of learning. Forget the raises to the administrators! The selling or leasing of the two schools is a sham!! I do believe that there is an agenda and that specific parties will benefit! Where I once bragged about our schools I now say nothing!! I hope that in the end something works out for the good of our children.
Rich September 16, 2012 at 11:59 AM
Bottom line, our BOE and probably our Superintendent are not that concerned about our youngest children. Just listen to them patting themselves on the back on the YouTube video of their last meeting. It was all about how well everything went and and how well things are going. Nothing about how some children weren't doing well with the transition. Yes some children are still have problems. Nothing about the loss of two great schools. Nothing as to why they chose to close the one and only West Islip School to EVER receive the very prestigious Reward School Status. Nothing as to why the hid the award from the community. No just congratulations to each other for a job well done and a 3% raise for the Superintendent and his Assistant. You can't make this stuff up.
Wendy Regan September 17, 2012 at 12:13 PM
@"Danny"- congrats on your very first post on Patch as "Danny". "Danny" using words like "diatribe" and "spewing" and use (misuse actually) the word "your" instead of "you're"....... Wow, what a coincidence....
Walter Isaacs September 18, 2012 at 12:56 AM
@Wendy, rather than ridicule Danny for posting, do you have any thoughts about the nature of his post. You have defended the has been patch blogger on many occasions. Do you think there is any substance to Danny's assertions. If so, would you still support Mr. Montes if in fact, he has now resorted to posting under a pseudonym. (Could it possibly be because he still does not want to answer the legitimate questions regarding his qualification to serve if he either chose not or was unaware of the requirement to register for sales tax with his quasi official sounding citizens board web site selling trinkets likely made with child labor?)
Rich September 18, 2012 at 02:21 AM
Walter and Danny, who cares who video tapes the BOE meetings and posts them online as long as they are available for the community to view what truly occurs at these meetings? The questions are why was the one ES closed that received an academic award and why was the award not announced by the BOE? Why close an ES that receives an academic award and it is a possible candidate to receive a $150, 000 Grant. Why are the two close two ES schools not advertised either with signs and or on the Winkler web site like Winkller's other commercial properties? Why has Winkler Realty not been submitting written monthly reports of work that they have done to lease are schools as per their contract? Why were 2 ES closed despite the restoration of much of the State aid and the elimination of the MTA payroll tax? (we presently have a full to capacity Bellew ES and full to capacity Oquenok)? Why was a 3% raise given to Mr Simon an his two assistants when we are supposed to be in a "fiscal crisis" and unable to fix broken windows at Bayview? Just a few of the many questions and why we be need the BOE meeting video taped.
Walter Isaacs September 18, 2012 at 11:49 AM
@Rich, I am with you, Wendy and even "Just the facts" on many of your questions. However, to be called a reprehensible liar by "just the facts" if that is the paid donym being used by a has been blogger from here, is in fact reprehensible. There were many posts here about people owning their posts, if "just the facts" is the has been blogger, then why not come out and say it. What is to hide? Is someone concerned that their their posts will again spell defeat at the polls? I questioned the fitness of a one time patch star to serve on the boe based upon many factors if now, Danny is correct, I would question the integrity and honesty of such a poster/ candidate.
Lauren Paccione September 18, 2012 at 08:41 PM
Did anyone receive a certified letter from the town of Islip regarding a meeting on sept.27? It's apparently about a change in zoning for the Westbrook school property? Anyone know about that???
Rich September 18, 2012 at 09:25 PM
Hopefully the letter is about leasing Westbrook. The school never should have closed. Both Bellew and Oquenok are filled to capacity, we already lost our smaller class size sizes, the BOE chose to close the only school in West Islip to ever be named for Reward School Status and to be in the running for a $150,000 grant. They better not be trying to sell the school for some kind of a housing project.
Silent Reader September 18, 2012 at 09:51 PM
OMG I cant stand it anymore. You people are all CRAZY with Wendy & Rich leading your parade. There are no 30 kids in a class like Wendy & Rich swore the BOE was going to do, there are no trailers and now Rich has the BOE selling to the projects. West Islip had a little something called an election where those who wanted to voted. GET OVER IT AND MOVE ON! BTW Wendy who made you the Patch police and could ridicule first time posters. You really need to find something more exciting to do with yourself then sit on the computer trying to find fault in everything that goes on in the town.
Rich September 18, 2012 at 11:02 PM
Interesting Silent Reader, no facts to dispute all the numerous allegations of misdoings and misinformation by our BOE. Just s lot of name calling and suggestions to move on and to stop looking too closely at BOE's decisions. Sounds typical for political coverup.
Jesse September 18, 2012 at 11:05 PM
But there are teachers in closets, locker rooms, copy rooms, etc. Is that where you want your child going for reading, resource room, etc? I think the children deserve better!
Silent Reader September 18, 2012 at 11:23 PM
What allegations? It seems to me and alot of others that you are unhappy about the vote, that who you voted for lost and continue to rant on and on about things that have been decided by the majority of WI voters already. You have no facts as well Rich, you just repeat (again over and over and over) what others post on here. My kids are happy, dont have 30 kids in their class and are being taught by the great teachers who were at Westbrook and can now teach my child as well as others how they taught to receive such an honor. Say whatever else you want, I am moving on to more positve things and people. Enjoy your misery!
Rich September 19, 2012 at 10:11 AM
The allegations are that two Elementary schools didn't have to close at this time. That the financial crisis really wasn't since much of the State Aid had been restored, the MTA payroll tax was eliminated and the BOE voted to give Admimistrstors who make over $200,000 a raise. They chose to close the one school that received a prestiigious academic award and could potentially bring in a $150,000 grant. The list goes on and on. Yes my children are also happy. But many young children did not do as well. As parents and as a community we should watch out for ALL the children. The BOE did not do the right thing by ALL of the our children which is why NO one is JUST moving on or forward. Suppose your children were one of the ones who didn't make the transition well, should we still move on and forget them.
Nancy Russo September 25, 2012 at 01:46 PM
Jamie Winkler is not a large commercial firm, infact her largest "sale" to date of commercial property was not a sale at all, but when the property could not be sold it was given freely to a not for profit agency. Furthermore, this particular broker is presently being sued for breach of contract and torturous interference of a contract, among other charges with actions pending in the Supreme Court, You would think that the board of education would look for a more reputable, ethical, and professional Broker, not to mention one that had a greater degree of expertise to handle a "lease" of this magnitude. The residents of West Islip deserve better.
Wendy Regan September 25, 2012 at 03:26 PM
Silent Reader" I'm not sure if you're aware of this but, the BOE vote is over and 2 schools have been closed. I haven't commented on either subject in quite some time so I don't follow your ancient history lesson...Not sure where you got your information that I "swore" there'd be 30 kids in a class as I never wrote or spoke anything that remotely resembled that statement. Maybe you’re thinking about when I brought to peoples’ attention the promise (broken promise) made to us by the BOE that even though 2 schools would be closing “class sizes would remain the same”. Yes, I am a dog with a bone on their broken promise because the class sizes DIDN’T remain the same now did they? Your opinion that those who choose to speak the truth are “crazy” and “in misery” is just that - and you’re entitled to have any opinion you wish. xoxo
Rich September 26, 2012 at 11:50 AM
"All that is necessary for evil to triump is for good people to do nothing". West Islip has almost 29,000 citizens, for the last BOE election less than 3000 voted. This BOE knows that they they can do as they please with total impunity. They closed two schools when only one should have been closed. They closed Westbrook and hid the fact that it had received a prestigious award. They make arrangements to lease schools with a Realtor who has not advertised, posted, or submitted a written report if what they have done. They cut the ES program and crowded our children into schools but managed to extend contracts and and give raises to the Administrators. Wait next the will want to sell Westbrook because it couldn't be leased. We HAD a great academic program in West Islip which was the envy of the surrounding communities. What happened???

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something